Northside Christian College
Northside Christian College
Northside Christian College
Northside Christian College

About Us

Railway First Aid Volunteers is a Queensland based not-for-profit charity that is dedicated to providing voluntary first aid services to those in need through the treatment and management of injuries and illnesses.

We have over 125 volunteers who are staff, family and friends of the railway community, primarily from Queensland Rail and Aurizon, all of whom volunteer their time to provide first aid services at community events. 

We have five districts across Queensland, which are:


Extending from the distant signal on the Toowoomba side of Helidon to Wallangarra, Dirranbandi, Cunnamulla and Quilpie and all branch lines.


Extending from Helidon to Eudlo on the North Coast Line and all branch lines, Metropolitan Suburban Network, Beaudesert and Gold Coast Line.


Extending from Palmwoods to Yandaran including all branch lines.  Monto is to be included in this district.


Extending from just North of Yandaran to Mackay and all branch lines; Gladstone to Mungungo, West to Winton Distant Signal on the Longreach side.


Extending from North of Mackay to Cairns, West to Winton and Mount Isa, and all branch lines including the Normanton Rail System.

Upon completing initial first aid training, volunteers are encouraged to participate in competitions and challenges within their district and between districts to further their first aid experience.  The benefits of these competitions are to improve skills in:

  • first aid knowledge
  • leadership
  • communication
  • relating to others
  • analysis
  • diagnosing
  • assessment
  • networking.

In addition, upon completion of the annual first aid class examinations, participants whose marks are in the top grouping are invited to sit for a further special examination called the Thallon Medal Examination, which started in 1908. A number of awards are presented annually including:

  • Thallon Medal (greatest proficiency member 5 years or over)
  • WR McGregor Medal
  • Minister for Transport Medal
  • Dr Thompson Novice Medal
  • Chief Executive Medal
  • Chairman’s Award